Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,247

4 members and 3,243 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    Thanks

Am I under feeding?

Hello. I have 1 BP unsure of age :/ Weighs 131g and I am feeding it an adult mouse every 5-7 days and when you get closer to the vent the skin is a little saggy. When holding him(unkown sex but I think its a boy dont ask me why cuz I dont know) he feels rock hard and can grip really good.

Thanks

Re: Am I under feeding?

i have seen others on here say feed according to the widest part of the snakes body and also i have said feed according to 10% of snakes weight. i am pretty new to the hobby so i am no expert. i have a couple month old male pastel that is feeding on adult mice every sixth day or so.

later, dave

Thanks
    i was wondering the same thing i just got my first bp for the first time about a month ago hes almost a year and im almost possitive its a male but not quite sure but my family had snakes when i was younger and they are all saying he acts like hes still hungry after we feed him but i dont want to over feed him and ive been feeding him live mice should i be feeding him frozen mice??

Single Serving Friend jsmorphs2's Avatar
    Thanks
    How much does the adult mouse weigh? Seems like it would be a good meal for a 131g-er.

I go with the 10% rule for hatchlings to yearlings then after they get 1,000g+ they get small rats in the 70-90gram range. Big females get one or two small rats depending on the breeding season cycle.
    ~Jessica~

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Nitelion94 View Post