Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,305

3 members and 3,302 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,288 Times in 1,090 Posts

Difference between owning a boa and a python?

I'm going to be getting my first boa soon (I'm going to assume she's a red tail since that's what she looks like http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.p...=154&de=823690). I have some experience with ball pythons and I'm a curious as to how different these two snakes are. I know there is the obvious size difference, but I want a larger snake. From the articles I've come across on care it seems like their heating and cage requirements are the same as ball pythons (by cage requirements I mean you want the perimeter to be 2 times the length of the snake, not that you can keep an 8 foot snake in a 30 gallon terrarium). It seems like both boas and ball pythons have similar docile temperaments (if handle regularly). So I guess what I'm really asking is are boas like very large ball pythons? I really just want to know what I can expect.
    Rebecca
    facebook ~ google+
    www.rawreptiles.com ~ RAW Reptiles on Facebook
    Snakes
    Ball Pythons ~ Hypo Jungle Boas ~ Bredlis ~ Carpet Pythons
    Lizards
    Crested Geckos ~ Chahouas ~ Bearded Dragon
    Furry Friends
    1.0 Black Lab (Orion)

Thanks

Re: Difference between owning a boa and a python?

I have never owned a boa (yet), but from my experience they seem to be alot more active and curious then most ball pythons. They can be aggressive as juveniles but they seem to mellow out pretty quick.