Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,394

2 members and 3,392 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,096
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, eamorris97
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: ASF food?

Thanks

ASF food?

I am looking for information on making my own ASF food. I was going to get mazuri 6F, but that was over 50 dollars for the 50 pound bag. I looked at hog feed as well, and there are no suppliers near to where I live. What food is good for them? I've heard that alfalfa should be avoided, as it is indigestable. I was looking at getting gerbil food (protein is at 15%), and mixing in some wild bird seed. I am looking for any help whatsoever, I need all the help I can get.

Thanks

Thanks

Re: ASF food?

I've been feeding mine Ol' Roy dog food from Walmart for the past 6 months. I have no idea if that's a good idea or not, but it's cheap and the rats have been fine so far as I can tell.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to spitzu For This Useful Post:

carlisleishere (03-28-2011)

Thanks
    Go to any feed store and buy oats, millet, and barley in 50lb bags for $10, $14, and $15-20 accordingly.

Add in some sort of holistic dog food, that's the only thing that is expensive. And you'll have an okay mix. Use mostly the oats and barley.

You can also buy sweet feed for horses for $10 for $50lbs, and mix that in aswell. Brown rice, thistle seeds, pumpkin seeds, saflower seeds, sunflower seeds, brown and green lentils are all good things to mix in as well.

You might want to look over on the ASF forum, I've posted a list of foods that ASFs can and cannot eat, and it's a good thing to look at when you're thinking about mixing a food.