Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,257

3 members and 1,254 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,137
Threads: 248,582
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, dangereux
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

New BP: A few questions, plus some news that might interest you.

Hi all of you cool bp-lovers

I'm new to the bp.net community, and had a few questions since I recently purchased a normal "captive hatched" bp from Petsmart ... yes, I know it's better to buy from a reputable breeder than at "Pet(not-always-so)smart" , but in all fairness this particular location has a bp-lover who's in charge of reptiles and she seems to know how to care for bp's pretty well.

The closest local breeder that I know of (Chicago Reptile House in Orland Park, IL) is about an hour away and the owner said all of his bp's are breeding right now and he doesn't really have a good selection of bp's for sale at this time. Since I purchased my first bp in the early 90's from the East Bay Vivarium in Berkeley, CA and have had great experience raising a healthy young juvenile bp to about 5.5 ft long, I knew generally what to watch out for when considering a new bp.

Besides, I just couldn't pass up this particular young normal bp Petsmart had named "Honey" because she's got a sweet disposition (extremely docile and friendly, hence my username), plus she's got a lighter color for a normal ball, cool looking jewel-like eyes, and a nice pattern. "She" hasn't been sexed yet so she may in fact be a he - but the name's cool no matter what Honey turns out to be.

Petsmart got her 12/27/10 and they said she was probably hatched in summer. She seems to be a bit thin, weighing in at 110 grams and is about 17-18 inches long. (Note: Petsmart's feeding log shows she ate a F/T mouse every week.)

And that's where I get my questions: