Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,301

2 members and 3,299 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,102
Threads: 248,542
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Geezy99
    Thanks

To waterfall or not to waterfall?

Hey there BP net, long time lurker here and figured it was time to join this wonderful community . Pleasantries aside, I have a question for you guys:

I'm going about the process of a building a new enclosure for my lil 4 month old normal BP and was wondering about the prospect of putting a Waterfall into the viv. This would be something I would be making myself, I have a lot of experience with sprinkler systems and pumps from my days of boating (live wells). I want to do this for scenic as well as husbandry purposes. I live in Utah, SLC to be precise, and the humidity is about... well 0% here haha. I'm able to maintain the humidity at around 40-50% but I want to forget about spraying every 4 hours. Would a waterfall be good for this? I know they might be hard to clean/care for, but maintenance aside are "snake-proofed" waterfalls safe for a BP? When I say "snake-proof" I mean that the pump would be screened, filtered, etc.

Any advice welcome, this will be a project I'll be partaking in around a month, going to build a beautiful enclosure I can hopefully keep him in for his whole life, so expect a project log at some point .

Cheers!
    -Fatal

Thanks
    Thanked 1,864 Times in 1,703 Posts
    to BP.net , I have seen some members that have had waterfalls in vivs, even one with a fogger on a timer (pretty cool), my only concern is with cleaning/sanitizing the unit, but if you only have one snake to contend with, go for it. Make sure you post pics
    Check out what's available at