Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,441

1 members and 3,440 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,540
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    Thanks

Question Any tips for a new BP owner?

Hello! I'm new to ball pythons (and snakes in general) and to this website. I've done tons of research leading up to the purchase of Claire (not really sure if she's actually a she, but I was set on the name and don't plan on breeding anyway ) and everything she'll need. I bought her a couple days ago (Saturday the 7th). I know about temperature, humidity, feeding; the important info on bp husbandry. I'm sure a lot of the things I haven't learned online I will learn with experience. But I was hoping to skip some of the "learning by doing" aspects of this new experience and ask a few questions that I'm having trouble finding answers to in order to keep Claire healthy and happy.

1. What are some good signs that Claire is adjusting well to her new habitat? When I first put her in there, she explored the entire enclosure for quite awhile. Yesterday she stayed in one of her hides most of the day, coming out every once in awhile to drink, roam the cage for a little while, and sometimes lay her head on a rock for a short period of time. She wasn't too active last night, but tonight she is roaming all around the enclosure and laying on top of one of her hides. I also noticed she hasn't went into her UTH/warm side hide for more than a few seconds, and I remember reading that it could mean it's possibly too hot. She doesn't avoid that side of the the enclosure entirely, though, so maybe she just hasn't wanted to go in there yet...? If I was to guess, I would say all of this sounds very normal, but I figured it's better to ask than to assume.