Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,452

1 members and 3,451 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    Thanks

Help identifying snake

I am a vet tech at an animal hospital and a gentleman picking up his dog brought us an egg hoping we could identify it. X-raying the egg showed nothing. the dr said the egg was way to cold and it was unlikely that the animal was salvagable so the owner gave us permission to open the egg. so i took the liberty of opening the egg very carefully and it was a snake!!!!! the owner was very curious as to what type of snake it is and none of us had a clue so i figured id ask you guys. i imagine its way to early to tell but id love to hear a guess. he said hes seen timber rattlers on his property before so who knows. what do you guys think????

Thanks

Re: Help identifying snake

It's a pity that the egg was opened, likely it would have survived. A short period of cold likely wouldn't have killed a snake at that stage of development.

It wasn't venomous. Rattle Snakes, Copperheads, and Cotton Mouths are all Ovoviviparous. Meaning they give live birth. Coral Snakes are the only Venomous snake in the United States that are Oviparous (egg laying) and that's not a Coral Snake.

It is not developed enough for me personally to make an educated guess on the species though.

Thanks