Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,196

2 members and 3,194 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,124
Threads: 248,568
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Rai
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Registered User rockhardchick666's Avatar
    Thanks

Hello from a newbie!

Hey guys, I'm very new at BPs and I need coaching. I want to make sure he can live comfortably.

Last week I was given a BP from a person who clearly didn't want it... so this poor guy has had a really rough start. When I got him ( in his 50 - 60 gallon tank, that was a nice surprise... I thought I was getting a tank half that size.)

He had one hide, water dish that was smaller than my fist, a thermometer at the top of the tank and one heat light and not enough substrate to cover the whole bottom of the tank. I assume it was aspen chips, but it was so dry that they were getting crushed into powder by his weight.

In the substrate was at least 6 different skins (which weren't in one piece, just chunks. He still had his last shed along his right side) and I couldn't count the ammount of poop that was stuck to the bottom of the tank. OH! and when I asked the guy when the last time he fed it he said "uuuh, no idea".

So since then I've put new substrate which actually fills the bottom of the tank, a water dish he can actually fit in, two hides, a piece of wood that he loves to climb, and some plants that he tries to climb. With the heat light only, the temp was getting to about 24C, so I bought him a heating pad, and two thermometers for either side.

With the higher humidity the strip of old skin that looked really tight left within two days.