Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,169

2 members and 2,167 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,114
Threads: 248,559
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, kindred_of_rot
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    BPnet Veteran
    Thanks

Best time of year to buy a young BP

Well, I'm thinking of getting a couple modest BP morphs so I can start along a breeding path. It seems like people follow a pretty typical breeding schedule and I was wondering if any time of the year provided better/more consistent deals on healthy BPs. I'm a big salt-water hobbyist and I know that during the summer unbelievable deals can be had for that hobby... Anyway, any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks

Re: Best time of year to buy a young BP

In general you'll find better deals in the summer when everybody's babies have hatched, fed, and are available (although BP breeding seems to be a year-round thing now). If you want to get started with a breeding program, buy your females now. It takes longer for females to get up to breeding size, and next summer you can get a deal on a double co-dom male (i.e. bumblebee, pewter, blast, etc.).

I used to be big time into saltwater aquaria and reefs... Welcome to the dark side!

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks

I've been reef keeping for 5+ years now, that's a hobby I'm never going to kick, I'm pretty sure. The good news is that this hobby can't be as intensive/expensive/addicting as that one... right? lol

Thanks

Yep...if you're trying to get the best possible deal, May through September are good. Babies have been hatching for a couple months and breeders need to keep the workload from getting out of hand as they hatch more.