Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,003

2 members and 2,001 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,126
Threads: 248,571
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Stephendici

Thread: Any Tips?

Thanks

Smile Any Tips?

Ok, I just received my first herp. And I have a large enough tank, a hydrometer, two thermometers, ( 83 and 89 respectively) Two hides, and night time heat lamps. Plus a water dish, and fir substrate. Any tips and or tricks for general care of a BP? Remember, total noob here.

Thanks

Re: Any Tips?

Just thought I would clarify: the lamps are black light heat lamps. I don't cut them off at night or anything.

Thanks

Get rid of the light bulb immediately.

Replace it with a thermostat that is plugged into an undertank heater (or flexwatt heat tape).

Do not use a tank; instead, use a tub.

Make sure you are measuring temperatures with a digital thermometer, such as the acu-rite ones.

This is what I personally recommend for you to have the best and least stressful experience with bp. Also, there are stickies on this website that cover the care of bp more elaborately.
    For every 15-foot python out in the Everglades, there are thousands of species of clams, trees, cats, grasses and birds that are wrecking just as much havoc across the globe. So, for all the headaches the snakes are causing, I at least applaud them for being scary enough to get people's attention.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to omnibus2 For This Useful Post:

lepidunce (10-04-2009)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by omnibus2 View Post
    Get rid of the light bulb immediately.

Replace it with a thermostat that is plugged into an undertank heater (or flexwatt heat tape).

Do not use a tank; instead, use a tub.