Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,222

0 members and 3,222 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,096
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, eamorris97
    Thanks

Question Silly questions (I think I'm paranoid..)

I've had my female adult BP for a little over a week now (she was given to me, previous owner didn't want to care for her anymore) I'm new to the BP world, so I'm a little paranoid I think.

-Do Ball Pythons yawn? I've caught my girl yawn a handful of times since I brought her home (I watch her a lot) It's absolutely *adorable* but I'm wondering if it's normal.

-Do Ball Pythons make noise? A couple times she has made a small noise... It sounds almost like a hiss, or similar to a tiny tiny sneeze. She's only done it when shes active in the evening & exploring her cage. Should I be concerned?

And finally, a not so silly question...

-Can someone recommend a reliable, easy to use scale? I'd like to know what she weighs, and I'd also like to start weighing her food.

She currently eats 2 mice per week, and has *never* eaten a rat (previous owner was afraid of rats-go figure) For now I'm not going to try to fix what's not broken, but in the not so distant future I'd like to introduce her to rats, and I'd like to be sure I don't over feed or offer a rat too big.

Thanks

Re: Silly questions (I think I'm paranoid..)

Welcome to BP.net first off!

BP's yawn mostly to realign their jaw but it isn't often, and because you are hearing 'hissing' sounds this does sound like the start of an RI. If you see any liquid around her mouth I would contact a Herp vet. But for keep a close eye on her and make sure your temperatures and humidity are spot on. (50-60% humidity, 90-93 warm side, 80-83 cool side)