Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,406

5 members and 3,401 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,540
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91

How to breed mealworms

Printable View

• 06-20-2005, 04:47 PM
    Brandon.O
    How to breed mealworms
    Hey guys, im doing a science project on mealworms, i dont know what im supposed to be doing with them but all of the sudden im curious about breeding them for the birds outside.

What do i do ?
  • 06-20-2005, 05:45 PM
    Smulkin
    Re: How to breed mealworms
    I've got no experience in that field myself - but if no one else does google

Quote:

+"breeding mealworms"
  • 06-20-2005, 06:58 PM
    Python-77
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Smulkin
    I've got no experience in that field myself - but if no one else does google

Yahoo search works well to--Here is what I found in a quick search I am going to start this tonight and see how things turn out in the next couple weeks. These large beetles may make a nice snack food for my Savannahs. (after they lay there eggs of course)

http://www.icomm.ca/dragon/mealworm.htm
  • 06-20-2005, 10:22 PM
    Shelby
    It's EASY. I have mine in shallow plastic drawers. Give them a couple inches of oats/cherrios/puffed rice/wheat etc etc. I give them the same food mix that my mice and rats get.

Put a moistened paper towel in for them to drink from. Don't put this on top of the food because it will mold. Re-wetten the towel every other day. You can also use fresh fruits/veggies, but I'm too lazy for that.