Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,114

3 members and 1,111 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

Kaiju (28)

» Stats

Members: 75,149
Threads: 248,589
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, koala
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Insulation

Thanks

Question Insulation

Hi Everyone. I'm new to the ball python world, I've had my boy dince last saturday... so yeah, I'm very new.

I want to ask you guys about insulation. I live in a veeery old apartment (almost 80 years old ) with no heating or AC. In my country humidity is always around 80%-85% and temps vary a lot during the day. In winter, it ranges between 50 F-25F and in summer, between 104 F-90F. This is something I did not take into account before buying my boy, which I know I should have. Is insulation going to help me prevent temperature changes in the enclosure? I'm not worried about winter/autumn, as I am planning on getting a second UTH/thermostat for the cool side. Summer worries me the most as I am not sure how to get the cold side to stay cold if the ambient temp is of 100F...

What worries me the most is the fact that as the weather changes constantly, temperatures can drop or increase 20F in a matter of hours, and I am not home 24-7 so as to vary the amount of temperature my boy receives.

Sorry for the long post
    I'm Nat!

Thanks

Re: Insulation

I use rigid insulation on my tanks and cages since where I live the temps change drastically from day to night; the insulation helps mitigate these changes a lot!!

~~McKinsey~~
    "Men have forgotten this truth," said the fox. "But you must not forget it. You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed."
    ~The Little Prince; Antoine de Saint Exupery

Thanks