Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,463

1 members and 2,462 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,405
Threads: 248,768
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Miramiraonthewa11
    Thanks

switching to rats?

Want to switch to rats but not sure if a fuzzy or a pup is the right size. Right now I'm feeding hopper mice. Last time I weighed my bp he was 156g. I'm guessing fuzzies are the way to go but I have no experience with rats or there sizes. Any insight would be helpful.

Thank you

Thanks
    Thanked 4,252 Times in 2,630 Posts
    I'd feed him rat hoppers for a a couple weeks then put him on pups.
    Thomas "Slim" Whitman
    Never Met A Ball Python I Didn't Like

BPnet Senior Member Lizardlicks's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,149 Times in 657 Posts
    @Slim: You mean mice hoppers? Hoppers are basically weans, right? It wouldn't make sense to go for a larger sized rat then down to a smaller one.

Anyway, I was offering my first two girls rat pups at about the size your kid is now, and my tiny 69g boy just took a small adult mouse that was easily 15g to my shock and amaze. You should be safe to offer rat pups at this point. The only thing you have to watch out for is a stuborn snake with a prey preference.

Thanks

Re: switching to rats?

Here is the mice to rat comparison chart and weights. Again I hope the person that originally showed me this doesn't mind me reposting it. It really is good information and I thank you!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

5. The Following User Says Thank You to chrid16371 For This Useful Post:

whiSki08 (05-13-2016)

BPnet Senior Member Lizardlicks's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,149 Times in 657 Posts