Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,440

0 members and 2,440 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,405
Threads: 248,766
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Miramiraonthewa11

Thread: Bath time?

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks

Bath time?

Read a story today about a snake that was stolen and returned and it included this:

http://www.bendbulletin.com/localsta...-media-outcry#

Apple was returned in good shape, Jensen assured her, and all the python needed was an hourlong warm water soak to calm down a bit.

I'm relatively new to this and only have one snake so:
    Is it common to do this? Does it really calm down a BP?

Thanks
    In my own, albeit brief, experience, all that a warm water bath does is stress them out badly and mess up their shedding.

That snake seems awfully small for a 2-year-old female... my girl looks about that size, and she's not even a year old yet. Maybe the guy's just really, really big, and it's perspective.

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks
    Maybe she was chilled, if she'd been in a box on the doorstep and who knows where before that. When I brought my current snake home the first time, he was on the chilly side despite my best efforts at keeping him warm on the trip, and the first thing he did when I put him into his new enclosure was take a soak in his water dish (which I'd just filled with warm-ish water). I haven't seen him soaking since.

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks
    Thanks for the replies. Follow up question: do you use bigger water bowl as the snake grows? Should the water dish be big enough for the snake to fit in so it could soak or submerge?

Thanks