Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,066

1 members and 2,065 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,392
Threads: 248,763
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, ball-o-rama
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

How to handle a ball python (beginner)

Hey I'm new to owning ball pythons I've only had mine about a month, and unlike most people who get ball pythons talk about getting hatchlings, I got a roughly 4 foot female. She's been eating regularly every 10-14 days n hasn't bit me yet but I'm nervous getting her out of her tank, I think its fair to be a bit nervous due to size n the fact its my first snake, I'm fine when she's out, for godsake i walk around my house wit her around my neck every time I have her out I just have a hard time mentally sticking my hand in a tank with a snake so large so any tips or anythin is useful thanks

Thanks
    Get a snake hook. Use it to either pick her up or rub her with it. The later is called hook training. It teaches them that there won't be any food coming when the hook shows up. After a while of using the hook, you should acclimate to being able to just reach in and grab her.

Should you decide to pick her up by hand, do it with confidence and away from the head. You should not have any problems.

Thanks

Re: How to handle a ball python (beginner)

No offense, but grow some balls! people who own dogs or cats are not afraid to grab them or interact with them and you need to be that way with your pet. Personally i feel if your gonna own snakes expect to get bit even though its not likely with ball pythons. Other then that i suggest watching the videos on youtube of the 9 year old that handles snakes and gets bit without even flinching. Maybe that will help desensitize yourself to it.

Thanks