Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,455

4 members and 2,451 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

Kaiju (28)

» Stats

Members: 75,149
Threads: 248,589
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, koala
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to the site

Thanks

New to the site

So I've been talking about getting a BP for several years, and today my girlfriend surprised me with an early birthday present- a trip to Exotic Pets of Chester to pick out a baby BP. So I found a 3mo. Old male pinstripe and he came home with us.

So here is Diablo-

Getting a meal in before coming home-

Checking out his new home-

The setup as of now-

As of now, he's set up in a 10gal tank with UTH on the right (temps are holding at 92 on the hot side) with hides on the hot and cool sides (hides are 6" flower pots with a piece of towel in for bedding), floor is a section of non-adhesive linoleum, and I threw together a few sections of dowel rod to give him something to climb. Humidity is holding at 61% with the aid of a towel partially covering the lid. Temps on the cool side are being problematic- currently at 73. Planning on picking up another light fixture for a low watt bulb (probably red) to try to fix this.

Not planning on staying in the 10 gallon long- I have a viv that I picked up in a lot from UVA herpetology for our beardies that has a smidge more floor space and is significantly taller. He's already been climbing anything and everything, so I'm try to give him more room to explore. I built the viv for our oldest beardie and intend to build one for Diablo once he gets close to fully grown.

My experience has been mainly in beardies and leopard geckos- don't have much experience with keeping snakes even though I've been catching them since I was a kid. Any advice, suggestions, etc are welcome!