Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,003

0 members and 2,003 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,408
Threads: 248,769
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, WheezyS
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

I think my Zephyr has scale rot

I've never dealt with this before so I can only speculate, but Zephyr had an injury to his neck back in November where a rat tore open the surface of the skin on his neck. Ever since this happen, and it has since healed, he has been soaking and soaking. I keep the cage very clean, and he shares it with two other snakes. I'm a vet tech but I haven't ever had a snake with this so I'm not sure if it's the real thing. His tummy looks kind of streaked with red in some areas, and today I noticed he had some dried blood on him. I rinsed him clean and noticed the scales underneath looked rather raw. I know using antibiotic ointment is contraindicated for use in reptiles so I used a small amount of tea tree oil to help clean and soothe the area. I also have him on baytril for another unrelated problem. Does this condition require a trip to the vet or can it be managed with home care? He's my favorite snake and I want to do everything I can to make him well again. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Thanks
    It sounds like you are doing a very good job in caring for your snake's injury. I think you should continue with what you are doing, and about the antibiotics, you can use a small amount of neosporin without pain killer on the afflicted areas. Keep doing what you are doing and the redness should go away, however, if he doesn't, I would seek higher medical attention for your snake.
    Last edited by Austenh96; 01-15-2011 at 10:30 PM.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Austenh96 For This Useful Post: