Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,306

3 members and 3,303 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,540
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    Thanks

ASF's not making babies??

Hey all,

I'm totally new to breeding asf's or any kind of rodent.
    I went and built a breeding rack and put 3 females and 1 male together.

They were medium sized when I got them and have done some growing since. They definitely seem to be fully grown or at least almost there.
    They've been together since 12/06. It's 01/20 now and they haven't produced a single offspring yet.

Is this normal? Should I wait longer or am I maybe doing something wrong? They have plenty of hiding spots, chew toys, water bottles and they're fed cat kibble.
    Or should I feed them off and try again with a new set of male & females?

tyia

BPnet Senior Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,912 Times in 843 Posts
    I know ASFs can be a bit more temperamental about the groups they're in...but I haven't bred them myself. So I don't know if it's easier to just start over.

If you're able to introduce a different male, I would consider trying that first. Assuming the females don't beat him up.

I had that issue with the first male in my rat colony. The male was actually sterile. Once I changed out a new male everything was fine.
    The thing to try and keep an eye out for after that is if you don't have females producing enough offspring. I had 2 females I had to cull for feeders because they were dropping litters of 6 and my other females are having 13+.

Thanks
    Thanked 19,835 Times in 11,849 Posts