Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,378

1 members and 3,377 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,096
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, eamorris97
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Ball python not eating

I am new to the ownership of a ball python. I purchased this fellow back in June. At first, his appetite was insatiable. He's approximately 4 feet long, and was eating 2 live mice every 2 1/2 weeks. He stopped eating over a month and a half ago and finally shed a few days ago. He was acting like he was hungry, so I went out and bought a couple more mice. Instead of eating them, he rubbed them with his face, then curled up next to them and fell asleep. His tank temp and humidity level are right, and I am getting conflicting ideas from the pet store I purchased him from and other pet stores. Some are saying not to worry until he hasn't eaten for 6 months. He's active, and seems happy, and there are no outward signs of problems. My question is: is this normal? Should I try to feed him something different (such as a dead chick)? I'm going nuts here and any advice would be helpful.
    Last edited by koverman; 08-21-2014 at 03:58 PM. Reason: mis-type

Thanks
    relax

that's the first thing you have to do

now the 2nd thing you have to do is a bit more patient, i know it is hard and i need some1 te remind me to be patient every now and then.

look aslong your bp does show any physical signs of weigthloss there is nothing to worrie as he is a bp and they sometimes just stop eating.

don't try anyting else just yet i might cause your bp to only take that ind of food from that point on, but tbh as he is 4 ft long i would try to feed him a rat mice are way to small for him. and since rats have a stronger smell to them it might get him out of his hunger strike.