Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,469

1 members and 2,468 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,126
Threads: 248,571
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Stephendici
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

mouse babies being eatin!!! WTF??

I'm new to breeding mice and discovered my baby mice being eatin by the adult mice in the colony. This has happened more than once now. The first time, I thought it was because I disturbed them. The second time, I thought maybe the cage needed cleaning. This time, in a quiet place - undisturbed, in a cage that was cleaned the day before the births, all the babies are gone! I removed one adult that I caught doing it, but obviously there is more than one in the colony of 6 females and 1 male.
    Do I have too many in the colony? The container is a LARGE opaque plastic bin with a mesh wire top.
    There is an overabundance of food and I give treats of carrots, lettuce, apples, raisins and waffles!

I'm doing something wrong here - HELP!

Andy-

Thanks
    What is the main feed? Protein is important. 6 females sounds like a lot to me. But people are very succesful with that ratio. This will probably end with you culling all the mice and starting over from scratch..
    Corns:
    0.0.1 Normal; 0.1.0 Amel Motley
    1.0.0 Butter Motley; 0.1.0 Charcoal

Telling it like it is! Stewart_Reptiles's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 20,811 Times in 9,584 Posts
    Blog Entries
    There is an overabundance of food and I give treats of carrots, lettuce, apples, raisins and waffles!
    Over abundance of food does not mean quality food. What is their main staple diet?

Mice are more prone to cannibalism than than rats however here are some of the top reason for cannibalism.

Low quality food (low protein food with fillers that have zero nutritional value)