Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,217

1 members and 3,216 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Problem with my ASF colonies

Ok, I am pretty new to ASF's. My dad had a couple that he was going to try and breed, and didn't have the time to, so I took them in. I have Ball Pythons so I figured that I would start breeding the ASF's along with my Normal rats, in seperate racks of course. Here's the issue, for a while things were going well. Good numbers in the litters, the majority of them weaning and growing just fine. Now for the last couple of weeks things have changed. Most of the pinkies disappear with in days of being born, I thought that maybe the older babies were smothering them out, but I'm not sure. And now babies that are just getting into the hopper stage seem to get sick and die off. And than I find little mostly eaten bodies in the bins. They seem to leave the hides and eat everything else. I am at al complete loss as to what is going on. The ASF's are kept in a rack system with watering system in place, they have water availible at all times, I feed them the LabDiet 5001, was thinking of changing to 5012, and the tubs are cleaned on a regular bases. Now the "Rat Room" is a room with no windows so has no natural light. Would this be causing problems? I did think so since most rodents live under ground. I go in and turn on the lights every morning roughly around the same time everyday and turn them off roughly around the same time everyday. Any help would be apprecaited. I don't like finding little mutilated bodies. My Normal rats seem to be doing fine.

Thanks