Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,248

0 members and 3,248 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,533
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Need help with a tub!

I've had my ball python in a glass tank using only heat lamps for about 2years.

It's starting to out grow the 20 gallon tank it has now and I'm considering buying a tub instead of a bigger even more expensive glass tank.

But I'm pretty confused as to how its supposed to be set up with some specific things:

1. The cover/lid?
    Should I just use the regular lid that comes with a common sterilite tub?
    Do I drill holes into it? Or make a custom lid with some mesh/screen?

2. Undertank heaters?
    I've never used them before. Should I place them under the tub outside of it. Or does it go inside of the tank under substrate/newspaper?

3. Light?
    I live in souther california for the most part its warm all year long with room temp averaging mid 60s most of the year and 70s+ during the summer. Will a undertank heater be enough heat source or should I continue to use a lamp? If I can get the adaquet heat with undertank heaters do i need a lamp?

Can post a picture of their set up if you have a tub?

Thanks
    Thanked 5,584 Times in 3,092 Posts
    Blog Entries

Re: Need help with a tub!

I think you'll ultimately love a tub once you switch to it. It's easier to maintain heat and humidity.

I do soulder a few ventilation holes in the lid, but the bulk of mine are in the tub itself.

I do not use heat lamps, as an ideal tub is going to be a short one (I think mine are 6" tall) and a lamp on top would be far too much heat and a humidity killer. They don't need any supplemental lighting, the light cycles in the room are fine.