Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 345

15 members and 330 guests
Most users ever online was 3,642, 05-08-2016 at 08:50 AM.


» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 64,010
Threads: 238,110
Posts: 2,473,326
Top Poster: JLC (31,652)
Welcome to our newest member, Mule 66
Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 63
  1. #31
    Registered User gp_dragsandballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    03-28-2009
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Great write up. Tried it today and it came out great. Perfect for my viper setup where i don't want to go in all the time to check temps.

  2. #32
    Registered User martinarquero's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-17-2009
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
    Images: 9

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Im goint to have to do these to all mi accurites! thanks

  3. #33
    BPnet Veteran saber2th's Avatar
    Join Date
    01-20-2010
    Location
    Harrison Twp., MI
    Posts
    1,103
    Thanks
    305
    Thanked 279 Times in 256 Posts
    Images: 12

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    I did it and it works great! Just make sure you follow Beastmasters advise and use a 15watt soldering iron or other wise you could mess up the circuit board.


    1.0 Spinner
    1.1 Mojaves
    1.2 Pastels
    1.0 Black Pastel
    0.3 Normals
    1.0 Anerytheristic Corn
    55 gal. African Cichlids


  4. #34
    Registered User
    Join Date
    04-13-2010
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    I just tried it. It was only my second time ever soldering, and I have it working perfectly, right now I've just shortened the 10' wire to 3' for the external sensor. Tomorrow I plan on tackling the insides properly

  5. #35
    Registered User
    Join Date
    04-13-2010
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Quote Originally Posted by WakoNako View Post
    I just tried it. It was only my second time ever soldering, and I have it working perfectly, right now I've just shortened the 10' wire to 3' for the external sensor. Tomorrow I plan on tackling the insides properly
    IT WORKS!!!!!
    lol, I just finished it. I was scared I had burn the board at first but Its now sat waiting a protective container for the humidity sensor and both temp readouts are exactly the same.
    I can't test if humidity is working perfectly, but right now its hovering around 50% in my room (its not going in the enclosure until the sensors are protected) and it feels right.

    I'm going out soon so I'm going to get googly eyes like someone stated earlier and try them out.

    I'll post a pic when its completely finished.

  6. #36
    BPnet Veteran BuckeyeBalls's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-15-2010
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 185 Times in 161 Posts

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Just modded my acu rite since i didnt have anything else to do tonight. It's working good i think the humidity is off by 1% tho

    Question for those that did it what did u do with ur in sensor and ur humidity sensor? I did hot glue around the wires so nothing touches and shorts out.

    Pics if u can
    Mike

  7. #37
    Registered User
    Join Date
    04-13-2010
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    I tried the Craft googley eye thing and it didn't work. In the end, I just glued the two sensors above the substrate to the wall of the enclosure.

  8. #38
    BPnet Veteran BeastMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    03-29-2009
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 71 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Quote Originally Posted by WakoNako View Post
    I tried the Craft googley eye thing and it didn't work. In the end, I just glued the two sensors above the substrate to the wall of the enclosure.
    +1
    1.0 Spider Ball Python (Roscoe)
    1.0 Cali-King (Prince Albert )

  9. #39
    BPnet Veteran
    Join Date
    10-08-2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
    Images: 31

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Well I broke down and gave this one a try…
    After reading the post on what to do with the hydro probe and the
    googley eyes not working well for this, I decided to try buttons.
    Drilled a few extra holes in a couple then only sandwiched
    the probe ¾ of the way around with a little hot glue.






  10. #40
    BPnet Veteran Munizfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    05-09-2011
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    810
    Thanks
    443
    Thanked 158 Times in 127 Posts
    just to make sure, the temperature sensors will work ok with a some hot glue around them?

    What if I mimic the original housing with some kind of plastic and give the hygrometer sensor a little OPEN enclosure as well?



    Also, I forgot, Are the 'probes' or sensor's legs side oriented? I mean is one + and the other one - (meaning that I'll have to re-wire it with each leg in the terminal that It was originally wired or can I just wire it inverted?

    thanks
    Last edited by Munizfire; 08-31-2011 at 04:24 AM.

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1