Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 114

11 members and 103 guests
Most users ever online was 3,642, 05-08-2016 at 08:50 AM.


» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 64,010
Threads: 238,081
Posts: 2,473,047
Top Poster: JLC (31,652)
Welcome to our newest member, Mule 66
Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 63
  1. #1
    BPnet Veteran BeastMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    03-29-2009
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 71 Times in 28 Posts

    The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    O.K. everybody, I knew there had to be a way to make this cheap Thermo/Hygro better. Then a friend of mine gave me the motivation to do it. I gave him my word that I would do it first thing in the morning, and I did, it just took a little while with the pictures and all.

    Problem with this thing was that it had to be in the enclosure to measure both the temps (In/Out) and the humidity (%). My friend told me that this was no good and I should find a solution. So not only did I do that, but I decided to share this cheap mod with all of you as well.

    Here is what you will need...Soldering Iron (15w) and solder, Razor blade, Two small screw drivers and a pair of small pliers (mine were Craftsman).


    Start by taking the back case of of the Accurite.
    Notice how the sensor at the end of the wire looks just like the on on the circuit board, they are even marked in/out.


    So now, unsolder the wire from the circuit board.


    Then unsolder the Hygrometer sensor and the other Temperature sensor.


    Figure out what lengths of wire you will need to run and cut the original wire to the appropriate lengths. Strip about 1/8" of wire covering off and solder the section with the original sensor back to the out on the circuit board. In my previous picture you can see I already did this.


    Next, solder the other sensors to the other wire sections after stripping and then solder the corresponding wire (make sure to put the temp in the temp spot and same for the hygro) to the circuit board.


    Use hot glue on the end of the temp sensor to keep the wires from touching. You will see how they did this from the factory, when you take it out of the plastic part that says SENSOR.


    Pass the wires through the back and Hot glue them in place after reattaching the back cover.


    When you are finished, you will have three external sensors, 2 for temp and 1 for humidity. It will look something like this. Then you can measure temps for warm side and cool side as well as Humidity with the unit mounted outside of the enclosure.


    I hope this pictorial can shed some light on how to do this simple mod, it should be a sticky as it will reduce the amount of money we all have to spend on temp/hygro sensors. But most importantly, it will prevent our Herps from coming into contact with the equipment we use and potential hazards they pose.



    I would like to give special thanks to Will Bird from Extraordinary Ectotherms - Ectotherms.net - Home
    He is the person that gave me the motivation to do this today.
    1.0 Spider Ball Python (Roscoe)
    1.0 Cali-King (Prince Albert )

  2. The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to BeastMaster For This Useful Post:

    + Show/Hide list of the thanked

    ball python 22 (11-27-2011),cmack91 (10-02-2011),Crazy4Herps (07-23-2009),DinkumDale (11-30-2012),dr del (05-20-2009),Friday2214 (01-16-2010),gp_dragsandballs (02-01-2010),greenex (05-20-2009),h00blah (08-20-2009),Hip (11-06-2011),Hock3ymonk3y (08-12-2009),JLC (05-20-2009),Jsh (06-18-2009),juddb (05-20-2009),Kris Mclaughlin (10-01-2012),martinarquero (03-06-2010),muddoc (07-17-2009),PrioBull (09-15-2009),reptidude1 (11-10-2009),Simple Man (02-21-2011),Soil_Herper (05-26-2009),Spaniard (05-22-2009),stinker2009 (08-20-2009),stormwulf133 (05-20-2009),unrezt (05-20-2009),VCR (08-23-2017),Watever (05-22-2009),Yodaaz (07-24-2009)

  3. #2
    BPnet Veteran llovelace's Avatar
    Join Date
    12-10-2008
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    7,887
    Thanks
    420
    Thanked 1,864 Times in 1,703 Posts
    Images: 4

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Very good! Thanks . What size wire?
    Check out what's available at


    "The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated." - Gandhi

  4. #3
    BPnet Veteran stormwulf133's Avatar
    Join Date
    07-12-2008
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 38 Times in 25 Posts
    Images: 49

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Very very nice *cough* sticky *cough*




    4.9 Balls, 6.7 Corns, 1.1 Black Milk Snakes, 0.0.1 Sand boa, 0.1 BCI, 2.0 Dogs, 1.0 Child, 0.0.? Fish

  5. #4
    BPnet Veteran 2kdime's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-22-2007
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    4,026
    Thanks
    649
    Thanked 805 Times in 660 Posts
    Images: 21

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    I am fine just taking failed Acurite brand units back to Wal-Mart, they take anything back! I have a handful of packages I save for this reason

    But YOU my friend have done an AWESOME job on this modification.

    Job well done

  6. #5
    in evinco persecutus dr del's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-20-2006
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    24,265
    Thanks
    7,932
    Thanked 6,292 Times in 4,016 Posts
    Images: 92

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Wow,

    Now that is an exceptionally good idea.

    Is the size of the temp probes small enough that you could use something cheap and disposable like the plastic top and bottom caps from a common pen to once again make them totally waterproof ( well ok splashproof ) like the original outside probe?

    Would the humidity probe fit in the cap from a large marker?

    You would probably have to put either a fine mesh or a few small saw cuts (with a dremmel or similar ) to allow the air flow to keep it working but it would give it a little more protection.

    Or do you find it doesn't need anything like that when in use?

    **edit**

    Do you think the humidity probe would work without problems in an incubator or egg tub?

    **end edit**


    dr del
    Last edited by dr del; 05-20-2009 at 09:20 PM. Reason: added question
    Derek

    7 adult Royals (2.5), 1.0 COS Pastel, 1.0 Enchi, 1.1 Lesser platty Royal python, 1.1 Black pastel Royal python, 0.1 Blue eyed leucistic ( Super lesser), 0.1 Piebald Royal python, 1.0 Sinaloan milk snake 1.0 crested gecko and 1 bad case of ETS. no wife, no surprise.

  7. #6
    BPnet Veteran BeastMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    03-29-2009
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 71 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    I gave that some thought as I was figuring out how I was going to do this. I stopped by a dollar store looking for something smooth, low profile and easily modified. That's when I found these.


    As for the wire, although I got a cheap 20ft section of 26 gauge speaker wire from the dollar store, I was able to just use the original wire that came with the unit (my enclosure is not real big). It would probably work the same for a rack system too.

    FWIW the sensors are all waterproof. The big thing is to use hot glue to seal the exposed wire preventing any possibility of a short.
    Last edited by BeastMaster; 05-20-2009 at 09:27 PM. Reason: Forgot something
    1.0 Spider Ball Python (Roscoe)
    1.0 Cali-King (Prince Albert )

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to BeastMaster For This Useful Post:

    dr del (05-20-2009)

  9. #7
    West Coast Jungle's Avatar
    Join Date
    11-07-2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    8,184
    Thanks
    624
    Thanked 1,367 Times in 942 Posts
    Images: 43

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Great info. I have a few old ones to practice on

  10. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    04-08-2009
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    This is awesome and should be a stickey! Too bad I didn't know about this 2 hours ago when I was just finishing one of my tub setups!

  11. #9
    in evinco persecutus dr del's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-20-2006
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    24,265
    Thanks
    7,932
    Thanked 6,292 Times in 4,016 Posts
    Images: 92

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Hi,

    But how does the humidity sensor work if you totally seal it?

    I thought it needed air exchange.

    Good call on the googly eyes though.


    dr del
    Derek

    7 adult Royals (2.5), 1.0 COS Pastel, 1.0 Enchi, 1.1 Lesser platty Royal python, 1.1 Black pastel Royal python, 0.1 Blue eyed leucistic ( Super lesser), 0.1 Piebald Royal python, 1.0 Sinaloan milk snake 1.0 crested gecko and 1 bad case of ETS. no wife, no surprise.

  12. #10
    BPnet Veteran BeastMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    03-29-2009
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 71 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: The Accurite Therm/Hydgro Mod

    Actually you are right, the Hygrometer sensor cannot be sealed. Only the temp sensors can be sealed, sorry, I should have been a bit clearer earlier. The googly eyes will get the Dremel treatment for the hygrometer sensor to provide proper airflow.
    1.0 Spider Ball Python (Roscoe)
    1.0 Cali-King (Prince Albert )

Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1