Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,905

3 members and 2,902 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,533
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42

Thread: New to the game

Thanks

New to the game

I am new to the whole ball pythons business. I was looking around my area and found a well known breeder of these beautiful creatures. I am wonder ing though about housing 2 snakes together? Is this recommended? If both are pastels and one is male and female does this add any extra complications? Also what size tank should i use? Finally when can i start breeding them as this is what has started me into the whole python world the huge market for unique snakes?
    Thanks in Advance starnger

Thanks
    Thanked 2,140 Times in 1,556 Posts
    Blog Entries

Re: New to the game

I wouldn't house 2 snakes together, neither would a lot of other people. It can be done since its a male & female, but what you're going to run into is they are going to each try to get the same spot, and that will stress them out. Reason I say this is because you want to provide a small hide, 1 on warm & 1 on cool side, so the snake fits snug in it, to feel secure, especially ball pythons, so if you put 2 snakes in there, this will end up stressing your snakes. Also for breeding, they have a well renounced sticky that has alot of information on breeding them.
    -Venomous-

1.0 - Naja siamensis - Zeus (Black & White Spitting Cobra)
    1.0 - Naja n. woodi - Hades (Black Spitting Cobra)
    0.1 - Naja nigricollis - Athena (Black-necked Spitting Cobra)

coming at some point in the future
    Naja annulata (Ringed Water Cobra)

Thanks

Kay thanks alot.

Thanks
    Blog Entries