Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,670

0 members and 2,670 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

feeding BP in substrate

This may be a silly question...but for those who feed their BPs live prey in a tank, do you ever worry about your snake eating substrate? My BP is on paper towel right now, but I plan on putting a substrate (probably aspen) in his tank. I know that swallowing substrate can cause problems, so what do you do? Feed in another tank? Thanks in advance for the help. Everyone's been so helpful already!!
    Kristen
    1.0 pastel BP ~ Edward

Thanks

Re: feeding BP in substrate

im not an expert or anything, but i wouldnt think that it matters. i feed my bp on aspen every week and it never caused any problems. think about it, snakes in the wild cant go into a sterilite tub to eat. they eat right on the ground and probably do get dirt and stuff in their mouth all the time. i dont think that it matters but im sure some would disagree.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to rando For This Useful Post:

physalia (01-25-2009)

Thanks

I've never had a problem since I stopped having separate feeding areas...I know for me that was an old recommendation for keeping the reptiles from thinking your hand is food when it comes into the cage...20 years ago when I got into boas my friends and I would never feed our boas in their cages and we all stopped doing that around 17 years ago...Just MHO...

5. The Following User Says Thank You to alohareptiles For This Useful Post:

physalia (01-25-2009)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by physalia View Post