Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,664

2 members and 1,662 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,092
Threads: 248,528
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, FayeZero
    Thanks

Genetics experts please help

I've been researcing color genetics in rats for a few months now but there is one locus I don't understand...Pearl.

I know it is linked with mink, but how do you create Pearls without the actual mink coloring? Does the mink have to be diluted with another trait? I'm assuming this is how blue pearls are made?

I have a mink breeder male that I assume has the pearl gene because the base of his coat is white and he's silvered all over. Trying to figure out what to breed him to in order to create pearls down the road.

Thanks

Re: Genetics experts please help

http://jhered.oxfordjournals.org/cgi...tract/85/2/142
    Two new coat color mutants are described. These are mink (symbol m) and pearl (symbol Pe). Mink produces a light brown coat, with variable white undercolor, and is inherited as a recessive to type. Pearl produces both a white coat and one that is pale cream with variable dark brown tips to the hairs. Gene Pe is inherited as a dominant and is lethal when homozygous. The pearl gene is hypostatic to other color genes, and the phenotype is only produced in conjunction with mink in the genotype mmPe+. The agouti (A) and pearl loci are found to be closely linked, with a recombination percentage of 0.73 ± 0.42.
    http://www.neratsociety.co.uk/images.../genetics2.htm