Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 961

1 members and 960 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,077
Threads: 248,523
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, jpriebe2

Thread: New baby rats!

Thanks

New baby rats!

My female rat just had her first litter and it is my first attempt at breeding rats. I would like to make sure this litter is well socialized and easily handled. When would you guys suggest that I start handling them to make sure this happens. Also at what age should I wean/separate them? I've heard 4 and 5 weeks before but what has worked well for you guys? Also if I want to raise some of them up to be future breeders is it ever safe to put them back in the same tub with the father or is the difference in size/them not growing up together a reason not to put them back together? Sorry for my noobness but this is my first time breeding rats.
    0.1.0 RTB (Kona)
    0.1.0 RTB Anery 66% PH Albino
    1.0.0 RTB Hypo Het Anery 50% PH Albino
    1.0.0 BP (King Julian)
    0.1.0 BRB (Tiki)

Andrew Geibel

Thanks

Re: New baby rats!

Quote Originally Posted by AndrewGeibel View Post
    My female rat just had her first litter and it is my first attempt at breeding rats. I would like to make sure this litter is well socialized and easily handled. When would you guys suggest that I start handling them to make sure this happens. Also at what age should I wean/separate them? I've heard 4 and 5 weeks before but what has worked well for you guys? Also if I want to raise some of them up to be future breeders is it ever safe to put them back in the same tub with the father or is the difference in size/them not growing up together a reason not to put them back together? Sorry for my noobness but this is my first time breeding rats.