Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,101

2 members and 3,099 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
    Thanks

Is an ASF colony worth it for around 10 BPs?

I am new to the herp world but not to breeding animals and I'm considering starting my own colony for convenience/cost/ease of feeding. I'm trying to do as much research as I can so I can begin planning everything out as soon as I can.

I have 1 normal BP now since I'm living with the in-laws till January(no room) but after that my wife and I are moving into our own house and will have room for a lot more. She wants to start breeding birds(another story) and I want to breed snakes. We want to start an exotic pet business eventually.

Enough backstory, next year when it warms up enough to ship I plan on getting 2 YBs, a spider, a pastel and 3-5 normal ready to breed females next year. This means my current unsexed normal(will be sexed soon) and another 7-9 so lets say 10 ball pythons total to make this easy. Obviously I could buy all f/t online or just go grab a bunch of live feeder rats/mice from a local Petco but I'm wondering if I could do a few tanks of 1.3 or 1.4 ASFs and feed all my snakes that way. Would 2 or 3 tanks of 1.3 or 1.4 be enough for the snakes and 5 clutches? More?