Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,074

1 members and 3,073 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,525
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Is feeding Live really this bad?

http://redtailboa.net/forums/feeding...live-pile.html

These guys are seriously against feeding live but I've been feeding my ball live for two years and shes never once had a problem.

What is the "responsible" way to feed a snake a life mouse or rat? I have a second tank with a hide with a large opening she can strike from so he can actually "ambush" the mice, then seal it off for about 15 minutes, then pick her up and toss her back into her terrarium.

Thanks

Re: Is feeding Life really this bad?

The people that are "seriously" against feeding live, have probably had horror stories before. Did you look at the thread you posted? See the pics of the boas head chewed through....that would make me be openly against feeding live

and a lot of wild snakes, that eat live in the wild, have a lot of scars and built up scar tissue, from bites n such
    Last edited by Patrick Long; 06-24-2008 at 07:00 PM.

Thanks

There are many people on here that feed live prey exclusively and have never had a problem. I feed both F/T and live, depending on what the snake prefers. If you make sure that your animal is hungry and the rodents are calm, it won't take more than a few seconds for most snakes to eat once the live rodent is put in the cage.