Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 291

5 members and 286 guests
Most users ever online was 3,642, 05-08-2016 at 08:50 AM.


» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 64,658
Threads: 239,154
Posts: 2,484,631
Top Poster: JLC (31,652)
Welcome to our newest member, NewmanLovesSnakes
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: substrate

  1. #1
    BPnet Senior Member Mike Cavanaugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    12-23-2007
    Location
    jacksonville, fl
    Posts
    3,439
    Thanks
    623
    Thanked 1,021 Times in 457 Posts
    Images: 2

    substrate

    Just curious what everyone is using for their ASF's substrate.

    I am currently using equine fresh because I purchased a bunch of it when I was breeding normal rats. But I wonder, since there is little to no smell with ASF's, should I just switch to aspen when I run out of the equine fresh??

    I also give them a handful of shredded news paper for the nests. They seem to love it!

    Mike
    Mikey Cavanaugh
    (904) 318-3333

  2. #2
    BPnet Veteran twh's Avatar
    Join Date
    12-18-2006
    Location
    UPPER MICHIGAN
    Posts
    567
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 111 Times in 74 Posts
    Images: 5

    Re: substrate

    i'm using kiln dried low dust pine with all my rodents,i tried several different brands of aspen but found them ineffective,after two days i would get ammonia smell with mice.have fun !
    TIMOTHY W. HURKMANS

    " Do you really believe that what you believe is really real ? "

  3. #3
    BPnet Lifer Kara's Avatar
    Join Date
    10-06-2003
    Location
    TBC
    Posts
    2,933
    Thanks
    967
    Thanked 715 Times in 295 Posts
    Images: 6

    Re: substrate

    Mine are doing just fine on Woody Pet.
    Kara L. Norris
    The Blood Cell - BloodPythons.com
    Selectively-bred bloods & short-tails &
    your online source for husbandry support.


  4. #4
    Telling it like it is! Deborah's Avatar
    Join Date
    09-28-2006
    Posts
    23,863
    Thanks
    5,868
    Thanked 18,969 Times in 8,864 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Images: 6

    Re: substrate

    I use Equine Fresh as well and have no intention to ever switching back.

    With ASF I only replace the Equine fresh every other weeks.

  5. #5
    BPnet Veteran FIREball's Avatar
    Join Date
    08-21-2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,190
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 131 Times in 109 Posts

    Re: substrate

    I just picked up 2 trios from Kelly on here and she reccomends Corn Cob, thats what she uses so I got the same.

  6. #6
    BPnet Veteran Ga_herps's Avatar
    Join Date
    03-30-2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    225
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 46 Times in 39 Posts
    Images: 10

    Re: substrate

    Since I buy tons of aspen for my snakes, thats the same I use for my ASF. It seems to be just perfect for them.

  7. #7
    BPnet Veteran panthercz's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-07-2007
    Posts
    1,493
    Thanks
    109
    Thanked 521 Times in 151 Posts
    Images: 15

    Re: substrate

    Aspen.
    "If I were stranded on a desert island and could only have one book, record and person...I'd probably die of exposure."

    czphotography

  8. #8
    BPnet Veteran monk90222's Avatar
    Join Date
    11-28-2005
    Location
    North Jersey
    Posts
    2,240
    Thanks
    431
    Thanked 288 Times in 204 Posts
    Images: 11

    Re: substrate

    Pine. Never had a problem with it....
    I also give them timothy hay to chew up to make a nest...

  9. #9
    BPnet Veteran mxrider42's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-14-2006
    Location
    Woodstock, GA
    Posts
    567
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 80 Times in 53 Posts
    Images: 30

    Re: substrate

    Equine Pine works really good with a layer of aspen on top. To give them something to build there nest with.
    Trey

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1