Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,833

0 members and 2,833 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,087
Threads: 248,528
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, FayeZero

Thread: Scale Rot?

Thanks

Unhappy Scale Rot?

Hey guys, i'm fairly new to owning a BP, and I noticed these markings on my friend Jiraiya here.

It looks like Scale Rot, but ive only seen this in severe cases. Ive contacted a vet, got pricings, so I have that option at a moments notice, but being an average joe, I was just curious that if it is scale rot, if theres any cost effective ways to take care of it, since it seems to be a very small case. if any more info is needed, lemme know. Thanks in advance for your help!

Thanks

Re: Scale Rot?

It does look like scale rot. To treat scale rot, you can give them a wash of half peroxide and half water, warm daily. After the bath put a triple antibiotic on it with no pain reliever.
    Put them on either paper towels or newspaper as a substrate.

I have heard many people say just the peroxide bath's will help, but please have a vet look at it regardless.

Thanks

Okay, ill start with the baths immediately. Right now hes in there with my GF's BP, its not contagious is it? Also, since then ive removed all the bedding, cleaned and sanitized the tank, and put down plain white paper. Is there anything you could reccomend as far as bedding goes? Before we were using Coconut shell.

Thanks

I use newspaper for "bedding"... doesnt look as nice but youll never run into an issue with scale rot. Also think about separating your snakes as they should be kept in individual tanks. Good luck nursing that snake back to good health and Id double check your husbandry... you dont get scale rot from nothing.
    snakes

Thanks