Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,326

2 members and 3,324 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,535
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dumbo rats....

Thanks

Dumbo rats....

I have a question about dumbo rats.... I am thinking about buying a couple female rats to raise up into breeders eventually. I have a 10g tank and I have been doing a lot of reading up on here and I found a person who breeds dumbo rats. She wants 15 dollars each for them which I think is a bit pricey but as I am new to this whole thing maybe not?

Anyway... I am thinking of maybe just keeping dumbos... Is this even a good idea? Is it important to keep other kinds of rats also? I am just wondering.
    Jessyca
    2.0.1 Normals
    1.0 Dumeril's Boa
    0.0.2 cornsnakes

Thanks

Re: Dumbo rats....

They are likely that price because she's a pet rat breeder. She may not choose to sell to you because you own snakes that eat rodents, just be prepared for that.

Two rats cannot live and grow up in a 10 gallon tank, they will very quickly (as in overnight) outgrow it. I use 10's but only as maternity enclosures for one rat and her offspring for the first 10-15 days or so after birthing, then they go into roomier tubs. You'll want to get a proper large rat cage most likely.
    ~~Joanna~~

Thanks

why would you choose dumbo over standard eard rats anyway?

If your feeding them off there is no advantage to
    A: using a breeders rat, especially considering they are specfically bred to be pets
    B: aside from ear placement there is no difference.. for example you could have a litter with both standard and dumbo eared rats.. aside from the cutness factor (oi I just cant feed rats!)