Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,088

2 members and 3,086 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Discreet Tub Setup

Hey all,

I'm new here, and new to the hobby, so I apologize in advance for any stupid questions.

I'm a college student living by myself in a one bedroom apartment, and I'd really like a snake. My lease says no pets. I've got a friend with a king snake who is in the same situation, and we've both agreed to take care of the other's snake for a while in the situation that the landlord gets upset, however I'd still like to be as discreet as possible.

Is anybody else in this situation? How is the setup for a tub different than the setup for a tank?

I'm in no hurry to get a snake, right now I'm just doing research, so feel free to shoot me your honest opinions and suggestions.

Thanks!

Thanks

Re: Discreet Tub Setup

I've been in the same situation.

Really, the best way to keep things under wraps is simply to keep quiet about it. Don't even ask if it's OK. We know better than what society says...we're educated enough to know that the animals we keep are completely harmless and will never cause problems.

I bought a rack system and filled it up..I never had any problems. Chances are, the people that come in...maintainence and such...will have no idea what the rack system is for. I kept my rack in my room, where no one was allowed.

I'm now in a house where the home owner is completely cool with my collection.

Thanks

Thanks for the response! It's good to know that there are others in my situation.

How much light should the tub allow? I'm guessing most of the tubs used are the semi-clear "glazed" type?

Thanks