Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,935

5 members and 2,930 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,077
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, RaginBull
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Good frog for kids

My 4 year old daughter is very interested in getting a frog. She seen some in petsmart and wants one realy bad. Whats a good easy to care for frog for her that could go in a 10 gallon tank? Im very new to frogs ball pythons are more my thing.

Thanks

Re: Good frog for kids

Does she know that frogs are more of a look and not touch kinda pet?

Unfortunately, I've never had a frog so I can't help you out on the hardier varieties. I've always wanted a red eye tree frog though.
    Christie
    Reptile Geek

Cause when push comes to shove you taste what you're made of
    You might bend, till you break cause its all you can take
    On your knees you look up decide you've had enough
    You get mad you get strong wipe your hands shake it off
    Then you Stand

Thanks

Indeed. I had this question asked many times by parents at Petsmart. Frogs are a great pet to watch, but that's it. I've owned two myself, a European toad and a PacMan, and both were fun to have, but frogs and amphibians are pets you look at and don't touch. Better, and easier to care for in the long run, would be to set up that 10gal as a fish tank and let her pick out some nice colorful little fish for it. (1 inch of fish per gallon rule applies).

That said, if you still want to get a frog for your daughter to give her 'pet exposure', I would get a pair of Fire Bellies. Small, bright colored, and relatively easy to care for. Whatever species you choose, just make sure you research them first to make sure you can handle it in addition to your other pets..as I'm sure you've been doing already.