Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,769

1 members and 2,768 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,078
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, RaginBull
    Thanks

info about anacondas

i just wanted to say that anacondas have always been my favorite species, i just think they are so amazing. i especialy like the way a green annie looks. those spots just strike me.

i am only a beginner in the snake owning world, and owning an anaconda is many many years away. but i love reading about them, so if anyone knows any good books, or websites (not comon ones that come up on google) i would greatly appreciate it.

and just a final question, would you say owning an anaconda is difficult? is the husbandry hard to maintain?

thanks again
    -Kevin

Thanks

Re: info about anacondas

This is a good question for Shelby.
    It's All About Boas
    www.jimisnakes.com
    JimiSnakes Facebook Page
    ~Jimi

Banned
    Thanks

The only big problem I've had with mine, is that one of my females is a reallly picky eater. They aren't too hard to maintain.

Thanks

Are you looking for wild information as well? If so, check out Tales of Giant Snakes: A Historical Natural History of Anacondas and Pythons. I found it to be a very good read. I'm writing a care sheet on them now as far as captive greens go, but I'm not anywhere near finished. Best one I have found so far would probably be NERDs. Also, I have a few articles written by Pete Strimple, not sure if you google his name any of them will come up, but it's worth a try. There is also Dr. Lutz Dirksen, his are all in German though.