Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,496

5 members and 3,491 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good Monitor

Thanks

Good Monitor

Hi, im new to the monitors, have snakes and gecko, but i love reptiles and cant get enough so ive been thinking of getting a monitor, ive been reading but havnt found good sizes which ones get, or which are more tame. I want something that will get big, but not hugh, 6, 5, maybe 4 might be to big, 5, 6 def. big but hey, if thats what they get, mom will fall inlove before it gets that big lol. I seen a video of one i think is really cool and a good size, even if it gets a little bigger its cool. Anyone know what this is?
    http://www.ball-pythons.net/forums/s...ad.php?t=44465
    What would be a good beggining decent size monitor, must be atleast the size of a small dog you know? i dont want another reptile the size of my hand you know?
    1.0 mini pincher -lucky
    3.2 bp-bonez, bonny, Klyde, Cheech, Chong
    0.0.3 cresties- Biggie, and Tupac, peetree
    0.0.1 leapard - littlefoot
    Im getting there.....

Thanks

Re: Good Monitor

Well, how much room do you have for a monitor?

A great beginner species is varanus acanthurus (ackie monitor) it's a dwarf monitor species from Australia. CBB babies are readily available and they're not terribly expensive ($200 or therabouts) they tame down easily, and grow from 2-3'. They can also live communally. A 30 gallon tank is adequate for one ackie.