Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,910

0 members and 2,910 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,087
Threads: 248,528
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, FayeZero
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Any corrections?

Well my science teacher got a new pet today from a friend in my section.

It's a little corn snake, but I feel bad for the little fella because he's in a kritter keeper, with NO hides, and a heat rock

SO! I am going to send her an email that looks like this. (Correct anything that needs correction.)

" Dear Mrs. (Her Name, I'm not going to make it public.),
    I am a student in your class that is concerned for the well being of the corn snake and I have a few suggestions on keeping it, because I keep a corn snake, too.

First of all, the heat rock is not good for a corn snake or any snake for that matter. Those are very dangerous to have with any animal because they are notorious for burning reptiles. I would suggest to buy a heat pad (Pet Store) and a lamp dimmer (Lowes). With the dimmer, you can at least keep the temperature at the levels they should be. Around 86 degrees on one side, and 75 on the other. You need two different temperatures so the snake can choose if it wants to go to the warm side, or cool side.

I would also buy a thermometer with the dimmer and heat pad. You can get those Accu-Rite thermometers from Walmart/Lowes/Home Depot. You would need just an indoor/outdoor thermometer. The ones from Petco are junk.

I would dump that Kritter Keeper cage he is in, and get a ten gallon tank, don't forget the lid!! You wouldn't want him to escape!
    The kritter keeper is WAY to small for him.
    I would also buy 2 hiding caves for him, because all snakes need to hide to not be stressed.