Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,814

0 members and 2,814 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,078
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, RaginBull

Thread: Humidity woes

Thanks

Humidity woes

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting. I took in a ball for a friend just over a month ago and I’m having trouble getting the humidity right. She was on aspen which made us too low so I last night changed her to coco coir mixed with coco husk and it’s way too high! How can I get a good balance? I don’t really want to be buying and running fans etc.

Thanks
    Thanked 2,179 Times in 1,175 Posts

Re: Humidity woes

Quote Originally Posted by lydia216 View Post
    Hi everyone. This is my first time posting. I took in a ball for a friend just over a month ago and I’m having trouble getting the humidity right. She was on aspen which made us too low so I last night changed her to coco coir mixed with coco husk and it’s way too high! How can I get a good balance? I don’t really want to be buying and running fans etc.
    Try replacing half of your current substrate with the aspen, if you have any left.
    1.0 Normal Children's Python (2022 - present)
    1.0 Normal Ball Python (2019 - 2021)

Thanks
    Thanked 19,791 Times in 11,826 Posts
    Or- how deep is the moist substrate? If you keep it shallower, it will dry out faster.
    Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength.
    Eric Hoffer (1902 - 1983)

Thanks

Thank you both. I did put it very deep. I used a whole coir brick and a full bag of husk. I’ve added some aspen and currently baking some of the coir mix!

Thanks

Unhappy

I’ve hair dried it, baked it, removed loads and added aspen and it’s still at 85%!!!

Thanks
    Thanked 2,179 Times in 1,175 Posts