Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,756

1 members and 2,755 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Registered User SapphicSerpents's Avatar
    Thanks

Question Nose rub on a new BP

Hello! I have a few snakes and recently added some ball pythons to our home. While I have some experience, it has been some time since I worked with these lovely creatures and is my first foray into owning my own, a long time dream come true.

One of my new additions, a female super mojave we have named Ranier, arrived to us with a raw patch on her nose. It appeared mostly healed so we kept an eye but she went into shed immediately and it looked much worse after. Due to the proximity to her mouth, tongue, and heat pits, I am a little hesitant on how I might be able to assist her and would welcome any advice.

Upon arrival:

~ 1 week after shed:

She lives in a rack setup identical to our other BPs. Her water crock and hides were triple checked for no rough edges before she arrived but I'd be happy to provide any images that may help.

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SapphicSerpents For This Useful Post:

Bogertophis (12-07-2022),Homebody (12-07-2022)

Thanks
    Thanked 19,739 Times in 11,797 Posts
    While it might have happened during shipping, I'd first be talking to the source I bought the snake from. And you did say it appeared mostly healed, which suggests it happened well before the animal was shipped & therefore should have been disclosed by the seller. It's pretty hard to miss such damage on a snake that one handles to ship, especially when it's right on their nose. The snake probably rubbed her nose trying to escape.