Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 312

1 members and 311 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 03:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

Wanik4 (37)

» Stats

Members: 73,229
Threads: 247,145
Posts: 2,559,103
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, hjosh5023
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    BPnet Veteran Gocntry's Avatar
    Join Date
    05-28-2019
    Location
    Northern Va.
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    482
    Thanked 980 Times in 470 Posts

    AP Cages build question (UTH)

    I have a set of 3 T18's, They are going to be stacked.

    On the bottom where the Flexwatt goes I have the cut-outs for the thermostat probe but the rest of the bottom is flush (all smooth)

    The pictures I have seen show a cut-out for the Flexwatt mat to go into. Obviously with the connections on the heat mat and no cut out there is no way

    to stack them and have them sit evenly. Do any of you recent recipients of an AP Enclosure find the same for your setup? or is this just something

    that was just missed on mine? (I did order the belly heat option from them).

    My thought was to mount the heat tape on the bottom with the connections flush with the back panel, but sticking out so I can stack them flush

    Any other thoughts?

    The connections on the heat mat look like the picture below


  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Gocntry For This Useful Post:

    Turkemon (09-17-2022)

  3. #2
    Bogertophis's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-28-2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    18,137
    Thanks
    24,930
    Thanked 16,803 Times in 10,264 Posts
    I think you should also ask the source if this was something they forgot to do, if it's what you were shown when you ordered. And you do NOT want the cages sitting ON the wires, that's for sure. If you just use them sticking out the back a little, you'll be losing a little heat & you might well need every bit of it in winter.
    Last edited by Bogertophis; 05-30-2022 at 05:47 PM.
    Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength.
    Eric Hoffer (1902 - 1983)

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bogertophis For This Useful Post:

    Gocntry (05-30-2022),Malum Argenteum (09-17-2022)

  5. #3
    BPnet Veteran Gocntry's Avatar
    Join Date
    05-28-2019
    Location
    Northern Va.
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    482
    Thanked 980 Times in 470 Posts

    Re: AP Cages build question (UTH)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bogertophis View Post
    I think you should also ask the source if this was something they forgot to do, if it's what you were shown when you ordered. And you do NOT want the cages sitting ON the wires, that's for sure. If you just use them sticking out the back a little, you'll be losing a little heat & you might well need every bit of it in winter.
    Well now that I read the instructions CLOSER ..... Back of the page...

    "You will want to make sure that the cage does not sit on the flexible heat clips. They will need to butt up to the back or side of the cage"

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Gocntry For This Useful Post:

    Bogertophis (05-30-2022)

  7. #4
    Bogertophis's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-28-2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    18,137
    Thanks
    24,930
    Thanked 16,803 Times in 10,264 Posts

    Re: AP Cages build question (UTH)

    Quote Originally Posted by Gocntry View Post
    Well now that I read the instructions CLOSER ..... Back of the page...

    "You will want to make sure that the cage does not sit on the flexible heat clips. They will need to butt up to the back or side of the cage"
    Ah, I thought you meant they had shown some sort of groove being made for the clips, so that wouldn't happen? Rats!

    FYI, I use this same type of UTH (Flexwatt) with clear clips over the connections, but I'm using glass tanks for my colubrids -not PVC enclosures that stack.

    What I do is apply weatherstripping* (it's peel & stick) to the bottom edges of all tanks, then leave a few gaps in the weatherstripping* for wires to emerge without the tank sitting on them, & also to allow the recommended "air gap" for safe heating (to prevent over-heating). Maybe you can do the same thing? That way the whole UTH will be under each AP- as deep as desired. Another benefit is that the cages or tanks don't slide easily- they've got "brakes".

    https://www.homedepot.com/p/Frost-Ki...734H/100047977
    Last edited by Bogertophis; 05-30-2022 at 06:51 PM.
    Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength.
    Eric Hoffer (1902 - 1983)

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Bogertophis For This Useful Post:

    Gocntry (05-31-2022)

  9. #5
    BPnet Veteran Gocntry's Avatar
    Join Date
    05-28-2019
    Location
    Northern Va.
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    482
    Thanked 980 Times in 470 Posts

    Re: AP Cages build question (UTH)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bogertophis View Post
    Ah, I thought you meant they had shown some sort of groove being made for the clips, so that wouldn't happen? Rats!

    That was correct, I was thinking the same thing....

    The picture below shows what I was finding, looks like the used to have a recess to install the heat mats in, but no longer do that?

    Mine has the groove for the probe, on the left, on the right and the center so you can put the heat mat where you want to.

    Doing that many cut-outs would probably weaken the bottom panel too much




  10. #6
    BPnet Veteran Gocntry's Avatar
    Join Date
    05-28-2019
    Location
    Northern Va.
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    482
    Thanked 980 Times in 470 Posts

    Re: AP Cages build question (UTH)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bogertophis View Post
    .....Maybe you can do the same thing? That way the whole UTH will be under each AP- as deep as desired. Another benefit is that the cages or tanks don't slide easily- they've got "brakes". .......
    Mounting the heat mat with the connections sticking out will leave me 21" of heat mat under a 24" pvc panel, That should be plenty. These also come with locking pins to hold the stack together and keep them from sliding off each other.

    I'm also working on a shelf system to stack 3 Exo-Terra's on a rack, using that weather stripping on that set-up might work well.

  11. #7
    Bogertophis's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-28-2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    18,137
    Thanks
    24,930
    Thanked 16,803 Times in 10,264 Posts

    Re: AP Cages build question (UTH)

    Quote Originally Posted by Gocntry View Post
    Mounting the heat mat with the connections sticking out will leave me 21" of heat mat under a 24" pvc panel, That should be plenty. These also come with locking pins to hold the stack together and keep them from sliding off each other.

    I'm also working on a shelf system to stack 3 Exo-Terra's on a rack, using that weather stripping on that set-up might work well.

    You'll figure it all out, I'm sure. You really have to see each situation in person to know what you need, but I figured you might find that weatherstripping to be a useful idea somewhere- I sure do.

    I've been using it for years, to create the gaps needed for UTH, but also, it prevented ALL my tanks from sliding off their bases when I lived where we had earthquakes. Nothing against locking pins- many ways to set things up, & it's just always nice to have options.
    Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength.
    Eric Hoffer (1902 - 1983)

  12. #8
    Registered User Turkemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-09-2016
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AP Cages build question (UTH)

    I just put together 3 AP T8's and I was wondering similarly if it would be safe to sandwich the Flexwatt between the cages without any gaps
    between them. I saw a video on Youtube where the guy put wooden spacers between the cages to allow for some air gap. Not sure
    if that would be better/safer option than just sandwiching the Flexwatt with no air space. I just have the place for the temp probe on the bottom of my T8s but no indentation for Flexwatt.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1