Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,677

0 members and 2,677 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

First time breeding... uninterested male?

Hello all. This is my first year breeding; starting small, with only 2 females large enough and 2 males. Everyone else is babies and going to take a few years still ❤

My first pairing is going great. I have a 1700g Super Russo female paired to a Banana Pastel Enchi male. She was going to be paired with a lesser, but after much deliberation and consulting a few other breeders, we think our lesser is actually female as well and just shy of 600g anyway. I have a backup bamboo who popped 100% male, but he is only 200g. So that's a project for another time.

Our other pairing isn't going so hot. I've got a double het, proven albino pied. She is 2400g. The male I've got her paired with is small, 750g, Leopard Pinstripe Pastel enchi, DH for Clown Pied. Basically my goal was to prove out one of his hets. We got one lock. Atleast, I think it was one, the picture I took is questionable and I didn't want to frighten him. Ever since he simply is just not interested or lightning fast.

I've tried all the tricks... I put him with the banana to entice some rivalry behavior... I left (what I think to be) a male's shed... and I've got them paired right now during the biggest snow storm we've had this year. I've only read it about colubrids, but I even took him for a car ride, figuring it could only help if it did anything. I don't think the female is rejecting him, she was extremely receptive to the banana... my only guess is he just is not big enough yet to have interest? I don't know. I don't want to call it quits yet.