Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,946

1 members and 2,945 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,490
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

Are 50% or 66% worth it?

Hello,
    I'm new in the ball pythons world, i only have two females at the moment (Spider enchi and BEL mojave x butter). I'm about to buy other snakes so i saw a normal female 50% Pied and 66% clown...are those percentage worth the gamble? There Is an "unfortunate" change to have a Normal ball python without pied or clown genes?

Thank you very much and i'm sorry for my bad english

Thanks
    I wouldn't buy pos hets. Unless the male has pied or clown there is no benefit to buying a pos het. You won't be able to get pied or clown hatchlings unless the male is either het or homozygous pied or clown. Even if he is you aren't guaranteed to get any pieds or clowns (the female might not be het). If you want to breed for desirable offspring you could get a homozygous recessive and produce recessives over multiple generations. You could also get a male with more dominant genes. If you're planning to breed I would recommend saving up for 2-3 years and buying the most valuable male you can afford. Quality in equals quality out.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Erie_herps For This Useful Post:

Bogertophis (01-11-2022),Ronniex2 (01-18-2022)

Thanks

Re: Are 50% or 66% worth it?

If your planning on breeding, have a visual male to prove her out, and she is priced right then I don't see the harm. All depends on what route your going. I for example am currently thinking of getting a clown 66%het ghost to breed with a pied ghost male I have down the road

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Santiago6621 For This Useful Post: