Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,853

0 members and 2,853 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,151 Times in 1,164 Posts

Children's or Spotted Python?

I'm considering getting a Children's or a Spotted Python and I'd like the opinion of experienced keepers as to which would be better for me. I have a couple years experience keeping a ball python. He died recently (Cancer). I live in an apartment in Jersey City, NJ with my wife, 14 year old son and two parakeets. Space constraints limit me to a 3x2x2.

I loved my ball, but when I originally got it, I got it for my daughter (since moved to college), so it's docile nature was particularly appealing. This snake I'm getting for myself and I'd like something that's a little more active and with a little more spunk.

I've done a little research into the smaller pythons and boas. My apartment is too warm for a Rosy Boa. Ambient temps range from the low 70's to the mid 80's. I considered a Jungle Carpet but I think a 3x2x2 may be too small for an adult. From what I've read, the Children's and Spotted Pythons seem like the best fit for me. Most of what I read lumped the two species together, so I could use some help differentiating them from each other. Thanks.

Thanks
    Thanked 19,739 Times in 11,797 Posts
    Your apartment is NOT "too warm for a rosy boa"- I've kept & raised (& in the past, even sold) them for many years. There are coastal, mountain & desert varieties, btw, but pretty much they'd all be happy at your place. But I agree that Aussie pythons prefer & need the higher temps in comparison.