Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,030

4 members and 3,026 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,533
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Question Curbing severe aggression in hatchling?

Hi all,

I've been working with ball pythons for about 7 years now. While I'm familiar with ball python behavior and care, this is my first time with a hatchling from a breeder (the rest have not been my own animals, or have been rescues; I've worked with hatchlings at a nature center briefly, but the clutch didn't make it) and I'm running into some issues. I bought my female pastel Mojave from a breeder unfed/unshed at a week old earlier this year, hatch date approx. May 31. She had yet to take a meal five weeks after she'd hatched, and with my previous experience working with a clutch that died before their first successful meal, I panicked. After trying live food, ASFs (both f/t and alive), scenting, and so on, I assist fed her (when I probably should have waited it out) and she was not happy about it. Before this, she was very docile and had no problem with being handled.