Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,902

0 members and 2,902 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

Question Enclosure heating question

Hi, I am new to snake ownership, and I just got a BP about a month ago.
    I currently have an exoterra medium low glass terrarium. I have an UTH on one side with a fluker's clamp lamp with an infrared bulb sitting on the mesh above the same side. I am using a thermostat for the UTH, and I have that set at 92°F (the probe is taped to the glass underneath the substrate, above the area where the UTH is). I am using eco-earth substrate. I have a thermometer on the hot side about an inch above the substrate and a thermometer/humidity gauge on the cool side above the substrate. I have a cool hide, hot hide, and humid hide with spagnum moss.

Currently my hot side measures around 88-91°F and my cool side sits around 72-78°F. My humidity is between 55-65% (was struggling with that, but found some solutions that have helped).
    I just ordered an infrared thermometer to measure the basking surface temp (not that BPs bask very much).

My question/concern is: as you go higher in the terrarium (closer to the light bulb) the air temp increases. I measured air temp above the hot hide at 100+°F yesterday. I have read that you should never have air temps more than 95°F. Is that true for the entire height of the terrarium, or just at snake level? If I need to lower that air temp, how do I do that without making the air temp at surface level too low. I tried dimming the light, but the air temp above the substrate quickly fell below the recommended. Also, should I not have the light fixture sitting directly on the mesh of the lid? If not, how high should it be clamped?