Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 452

0 members and 452 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

Ziggy31984 (40)

» Stats

Members: 75,014
Threads: 248,474
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, DetectiveIcarus
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

Boa Health Declining Quickly- Advice Needed

Hello

I am new to snakes, and I got my first snake, a boa, in fall of 2020. He is around 9 months old now, but I am very worried about him.

I bought him from a local pet store that said he came from a local breeder. He is, as far as I know, a standard BCI. He has a 4x2x1.5 PVC viv. The ambient temperature is always between 77 and 80, with floor temps measured by an IR gun being 75 in the coolest spot, 80 in the middle, 83 on the hot side, and a basking spot of 88-90. There are 2 under tank heaters and a CHE maintaining temps on thermostats. He has coco fiber substrate, rocks, and tons of wood and leaf clutter so that he feels safe. Humidity on the cool side is usually around 55-58% and humidity on the hot side is usually around 60-63%.

He seemed to thrive for a while, but since about six to seven months he has started declining. He is losing weight, despite eating as large of a meal as I can safely give him (almost) weekly. He weighs less than he did when I got him. He sheds regularly and has grown in length but not by much. He is 90g right now and I am feeding him ~11-12g rodents weekly, if he will take them. As of the last month his feeding has been intermittent. Sometimes he wont take it at all, sometimes I'll feed him and a day later he'll be back at the front of the cage looking for more. He has never regurgitated but he will lie on his back while eating.