Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,024

1 members and 3,023 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,077
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, RaginBull
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

New to Morelia, Many Questions

I've had my ball python for around 3 years now and am finally in a situation where I'm able to get my current dream snake. Not sure what kind of carpet I want yet, but as I have no experience with them yet I have a few questions I was hoping I could get some keepers' advice on.

1. What's the main difference between different carpets? I know Costals are bigger, Irian Jayas are smaller etc, but apart from that any other differences?

2. I've heard the Jaguar morph is similar to ball python's spider morph in that it is prone to neurological problems? Is that true?

3. Can you put a yearling into an adult enclosure? I'm thinking about getting either a 4x2x2 or 6x2x2, but would that extra growing space stress it out? Or would it be alright as long as it's given lots of hides and coverage?

4. Is there any other major care differences between them and ball pythons? As far as I know, they more or less have the same temp and humidity requirements, only they require more enclosure space and bigger prey etc. Is this true?

5. How often should you handle a yearling to train aggression out of it? I've heard they can be nippy. And hook training is good to do as well, right?

6. Anything else I should know before making the leap and getting one? I've wanted one for so long and have looked into it a ton but dont want to leap before I look. Thanks!

Thanks

Re: New to Morelia, Many Questions