Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 574

1 members and 573 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

Ziggy31984 (40)

» Stats

Members: 75,014
Threads: 248,474
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, DetectiveIcarus
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Thanks

Scab on the face

Hello,

New to the forum and to pet snake ownership. I am still learning the terms here so bare with me please. I just bought a beautiful to me blue eyed leucistic ball python. Bought her February 9th with her tank to reduce stress to her new home and let her acclimate for a few days. So after a few days I noticed what I thought was substrate on her nose but after getting a closer look it appears to be a scab. I will try to post a picture so you can let me know what you think. And she is going to shred again soon I assume as her eyes are becoming cloudy. Will the shed fix the issue or make things worse?

Some background on her, have not seen her once on the top screen of her enclosure since I have had her. Her analog temp and humidity guages were bad so I know her humidity has been bad and her temp was not to far off and the proof was her bad shed( in pieces when I got her. Also now that I think about it her top of her nose scales looked kinda dry and wrinkly if that makes any sense. Maybe bad she’s as one of her eyes did not completely shed it seems.

Thanks
    Thanked 19,730 Times in 11,794 Posts
    Hi, & welcome. Yes, actually pics would help us to help you. You mention a "screen top" on her enclosure, so I assume she may have scraped her nose on that & caused the scab. When she sheds, the scab will come off but it will do so repeatedly with subsequent sheds, healing better each time. Snakes shed to grow, but also shed more often when healing an injury, fyi.